Better Choices in the Bathroom

I have a lot of people ask what products I use as greener alternatives to the ‘usual’ options, so here are the answers.

Please note, this is not me recommending or endorsing or being sponsored to promote any particular product, it’s simply what I use and why I have chosen them.

Toothbrushes

With something like 30 million plastic toothbrushes being thrown away in Australia each year, we have switched to bamboo ones from Environmental Toothbrush. I’ve found they last longer than the plastic ones, plus I can use them as kindling in the fire or throw in the compost when I’m done.

toothbrush

Sanitary Pads

Ladies, once you go cloth, you’ll never go back! I’ve been using Moon Pads cloth sanitary pads for over 15 years now. They work out much cheaper than disposables, create no garbage, are super easy to clean (just throw them in the washing machine with everything else), are comfortable (except for horseriding), much prettier and always on-hand. They also don’t have adhesive for small children to use as stickers or for unfortunate pubic-hair-incidents. Plus there’s less smell, and equal absorbency!

Toilet Paper

I use Naturale or Who Gives A Craps ‘Roll Model’ toilet papers. Both are 100% recycled, and both make donations to good causes.

toilet-paper

Recycled toilet paper that donates money to third world sanitation projects.

Laundry Powder

I have chosen Euca laundry powder in the 12kg tubs. There’s far less packaging than smaller boxes (and far less of those darn plastic scoops), it’s palm oil free, Australian made and the container is a perfect in-garden worm farm once it’s used up!

Tissues

I’ve done it. The phase-out of tissues in our house has begun. I’ve faced my fear of snot and I bought hankies instead. Reusable and washable! And continually disappearing into my sons pockets… I need to buy more.

Baby Wipes

I originally had a pack of store-bought wipes and discovered that they go through the washing machine in-tact. I now put these washed wipes into a clean coffee jar with a mix of 1 cup boiling water, 1 tablespoon organic coconut oil and a squirt of baby wash to make my own. I simply wash and reuse.

Nappies

My favourite cloth nappies were Funki Bums, but they’re no longer in production. Pretty much any pocket / insert nappy, particularly in bamboo, are awesome. We also have a lot of Baby Beehinds – they make my favourite PLU covers for over traditional white cloth square nappies. There’s lots of different brands that produce great nappies, and second-hand from websites such as eBay or Gumtree are also excellent places to find them. Or join your local cloth nappy library to try different sorts to see which suits you. Cloth nappies have a gazillion benefits over disposables – and are super easy to use and clean. Trust me. They’re awesome. Just ask me, I’ll happily talk nappies all day! When I do have to travel and can’t use cloth, we choose Naty Baby Care – they’re as biodegradable as we can find in our supermarket.

wp_20161201_14_20_30_pro1

Cloth nappies and home-made baby wipes

Soap

We are phasing out the hand-pump soaps in our house, as even with the refill options, they still create far more plastic waste / recycling than soap bars. I use Country Life soap – Australian made, palm-oil free with recyclable cardboard packaging.

Cleaning Products

Vinegar. Water. A cloth.

My Next Targets

I need to tackle cotton buds and dental floss next – if you have any useful product recommendations I’d love to hear them!

7 thoughts on “Better Choices in the Bathroom

  1. I’m one of those naughty people who don’t floss unless I have something stuck between my teeth, in which case I just use a bit of cotton from the sewing box and it does the trick. Don’t know if that helps.

    Like

  2. I make soap, and if you ever need a scouring powder, grind one of your soap bars and add 1 c borax and 1c baking soda or washing soda. The microscopic sharp edges on the soda crystals actually do a lot of the scouring work, but the soap will cut through grease and grime and the borax combined with your water to soften it and help it grab dirt particles more easily. I keep a coffee can of this by my sink for tough pots and pans and in the bathroom for the tub, sink, and toilet. You can add essential oils, particularly citrus oils will help with cleansing power. You can also add citrus rinds to jars of vinegar and let them sit about a month or longer to extract the oils for cleaning purposes-great on glass and stainless steel. The citrus rinds can then be tossed in the compost. I had never thought of bamboo toothbrushes and will have to look into that! That’s genius!

    Like

  3. For dental floss, look for Radius Silk Floss. It’s biodegradable and works great. Since we have Wal-Mart here in Kansas, USA, I can buy it nearby for about $3 (USD). You might have to order it.

    Like

  4. Also since I make soap, I have to encourage you to find a small business that hand crafts soap instead of buying from a larger company. I’m sure there’s a soapmaker near you; We are everywhere! Hand made soap can be made truly fragrance free, not with fragrance to cover the fragrance, and it can also be made free of any dyes or unnatural colorants. I like to use indigo and alkanet root and-believe it or not -cinnamon and cocoa in my soaps. I know there are plenty of other struggling soap makers who need people embracing a more natural and sustainable life to help support them. So if you can, get on Etsy or the like and find a soapmaker in your area. I personally don’t even charge for local deliveries, to help people save shipping costs. Good luck on going green!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Blog | katanning eco-house

Leave a Reply

